Featured

November 18-22 The final Count Down

Friday November 22: Abstract due by the end of school.

Thursday November 21: Conclusions and bibliography is due at the end of school.

Wednesday November 20: Go over how to write an abstract. Catch-up day. Work hard. Our deadlines are tight!

Tuesday November 19: Data and results due by the end of class. A folder has been provided for you. If you are not able to meet this deadline, be sure to speak with me ahead of time!

Monday November 18: Introductions due by the end of school. A folder has been created in the independent experiment folder.

Featured

November 11-14

Friday November 15: Ms. Smyser will not be here today. Turn in final drafts of procedure by the end of class. I will grade them over the weekend and next week we can begin experiments.

Thursday November 14: Be writing introduction. Final draft of procedure due by end of class.

Wednesday November 13: Begin writing/continue to research introduction. Turn in what part of the introduction for which you are responsible.

Tuesday November 12: Rough draft of procedure due by 10pm this evening.

Monday November 11: Continue working on procedure. Have a list of materials ready to turn in by the end of class taking particular note of items that you are not able to provide.

Featured

November 4-8

Friday November 8: Continue designing procedure. Begin thinking about a materials list. Pay special attention to what you will need to provide yourself, what we already have and what I might need to obtain for you.

Thursday November 7: Begin designing procedure.

Wednesday November 6: Research and compose a summary of “your question.”

Tuesday November 5: Research day. Each group should brainstorm what information they need to find to refine their hypothesis and begin writing their procedure. Choose at least 4 topics (3 if you are a group of 3) and each person should be responsible for finding information about them. A summary of what you have found will be due by the end of class tomorrow.

Monday November 4: Research day. Turn in 5 sources by the end of the class period in proper APA format. You should write two sentences for each source. One about what the source is about and one about for what you would use it. Be more specific than something similar to “in the introduction.” Only 5 sources are due per group.

Featured

October 28-November 1 New Experiments

Friday November 1: Review how to find reliable, academic websites. Continue to research. Five references in APA format that would be good for your lab write-up will be due at the end of class. Ms. Smyser will begin meeting with groups to discuss hypotheses.

Thursday October 31: Get with your assigned group and begin to discuss a hypothesis. Use the starburst chart to help you. A properly written hypothesis is due by the end of class.

Wednesday October 30: “Faculty Mixer” to discuss ideas and be ready to suggest groups with topics that the groups are built around by the end of class.

Tuesday October 29: You will need to turn in 3 ideas of what you would like to study by the end of class. You do not have to have experiment ideas ready yet, but if you do include them. Be ready to discuss your ideas tomorrow.

Monday October 28: Begin thinking of ideas of what you would like to study in your next experiment. Use the Idea Generation Diamond to help get you started.